KATHY SZELIGA

Legislative District 7A
Baltimore County

Annapolis Office
The Maryland House of Delegates
6 Bladen Street, Room 322
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
410-841-3698 · 301-858-3698
800-492-7122 Ext. 3698
Fax 410-841-3023 · 301-858-3023
Kathy.Szeliga@house.state.md.us



RYAN NAWROCKI

Legislative District 7A

Baltimore County

Annapolis Office
The Maryland House of Delegates
6 Bladen Street, Room 322
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
410-841-3289 · 301-858-3289
800-492-7122 Ext. 3289
Ryan.Nawrocki@house.state.md.us

February 8, 2023

Sent Via Electronic Communication

The Honorable Johnny Olszewski, Jr. Baltimore County Executive Towson, Maryland 21204

The Honorable Julian E. Jones, Jr. Baltimore County Council Chairman Towson, Maryland 21204

Dear County Executive Olszewski and Council Chair Jones,

We write today with concerns about the Baltimore County Adequate Public Facilities Ordinance, APFO. Countless constituents, as well as your representatives in legislative districts 7 and 8, continue to express serious concerns about the development and proposed development in the White Marsh, Perry Hall, Middle River, and surrounding areas.

As you know, most of our schools are overcrowded and have trailers. The schools under construction are at capacity when the doors open. The hospitals are overloaded, and the emergency rooms are facing some of the longest wait times in the nation. The roads have many failing intersections and cannot handle additional traffic and be safe. Our wastewater treatment plant is failing and should not be burdened with even more sewage until the systemic problems and capacity issues are solved. The Baltimore County police force is short more than two hundred officers and our first responders are also stressed.

We understand that Councilman Marks has initiated steps to review and revise the APFO. Due to the concerns about the current public facilities raised above and the inability to safely manage additional development in our districts currently, we are urging you to take up the APFO immediately and allow public hearings and input as you move ahead.

Thank you,

Delegate Kathy Szeliga District 7A

Kathy Sngliga

CC: Pat Young – District 1 Izzy Patoka – District 2 Wade Kach – District 3 Delegate Ryan Nawrocki District 7A

Plya Hours

David Marks – District 5 Mike Ertel – District 6 Todd K. Crandell – District 7